Good Reads

Growing up, I always loved reading. I loved sitting down and picking up a good book and becoming engrossed in a story. I thought being alone and reading by myself was a lot of fun. What I didn’t know what that sitting down and reading a good book with your fiancé/spouse is even more fun.

Hayden and I read books together before we were engaged, and I found it to be extremely fun. We could talk about the readings, and it sparked new conversations. I want to encourage couples young and old to pick up a book and try to read together. You don’t have to be a speedy reader or have amazing reading-out-loud skills. You just need to realize that this can be a special moment to discuss what you and your spouse think and feel. If you don’t have any clue what books to read let me offer a few suggestions!


The 5 Love Languages

By: Gary Chapman

5 Love Languages

This book is absolutely amazing, and it is the first book I read with Hayden. It really helped us understand how to love one another. It explains that we give and receive love differently. I would recommend reading this book first if you haven’t. It gives a good base to build off. To find out what you or your fiancé/spouse’s love languages are take the quiz online! It only takes a few minutes!

Purchase the book: HERE

 

Saving Your Marriage Before it Starts

Drs. Les & Leslie Parrott

Saving Your Marriage Before It Starts

Our premarital counselors suggested this book for our counseling sessions, and I’m so glad they did! It was very good book to read with Hayden. The book provides a lot of real world examples to help you understand better. I love the questions at the end of the chapter! You can also purchase men’s and women’s workbooks!

Purchase the book: HERE

 

His Needs Her Needs

Willard F. Harley, Jr.

His Needs Her Needs

While Hayden and I have not finished this book yet, we love it so far! This book is all about making your marriage affair-proof. I would recommend this book for someone who is currently engaged or already married.

 

Purchase this book: HERE

 


These are next up on my reading list:

You & Me Forever: Marriage in Light of Eternity

Francis & Lisa Chan

You & Me Forever

I am a huge Francis Chan fan so I am so excited to read this book. Go ahead and read it and let me know what you think! You can purchase it here!

 

 

 

 

 

The Power of A Praying Wife

Stormie Omartian

Power of a Praying Wife

While I know this isn’t a book to read with Hayden, I thought I would still put it up here as a suggestion for all of you ladies. My mom suggested this book to me and told me it was a great read! You can purchase it here!

 

 


I hope you will you give reading a chance and pick up one of these amazing books! If you have any suggestions for me please let me know! Also, be sure to keep checking back for my newest blog post!

xoxo,
haley Logo

2 thoughts on “Good Reads

  1. Kevin Colclasure

    Good article. Great books too. Love and Respect is another good read. My wife and I have been through it three times and are now leading our Life Group through it now, so it’s our fourth time to go through it. It helps couples to understand what Paul meant when he said, “husbands love your wives as Christ loved the church; wives ‘submit’ or respect your husbands.” This book gives practical examples of how a husband is to love his wife and how a wife is to respect her husband.

    Haley, may God continue to bless you and Hayden as you journey down this road together called life and marriage.

    Like

What do you think?

