Picking the Perfect Wedding Gown

Congratulations! Odds are if you’re reading this post you just got engaged (or you love weddings, which is understandable). I am so happy for you and wish you the best of luck in your upcoming planning! One of the most important parts of wedding planning is picking out a bride’s wedding gown. This can be an extremely fun, amazing, stressful, and confusing time. I don’t want to discourage you, but I understand how stressful it feels to have to chose ONE dress to say “I do” in. Don’t worry, I am here to ease your worries away, and help you keep cool, calm, and collected during your bridal appointment.

 

STEP ONE: When you begin the process of looking for a dress it is important to not set any standards or expectations. {Except for a budget… Please set a budget!! 😉 }. I made the mistake of having my mind set on a specific type of dress only to be disappointed later. The best thing to do is to have a positive outlook on everything. The statement “it looks better off the hanger” could not be truer. If you think you hate tulle, give it a try! If you worried lace will make you look 20 years older, try it anyways. You will never know for sure until it is on your body. Also, understand that what you might have envisioned to be perfect might not look the same as you planned. If you thought a high-neckline would look great only to find out that it doesn’t fit your stature, don’t worry! Maybe you thought you wanted a tight fitting number only to find out you want to express your inner princess instead!! The main point is to be open to anything and don’t decide on anything until you’ve tried it on.

STEP TWO: Find a dress that makes you feel confident! Your wedding day is one of the biggest days of your entire life and it only happens once! You want to feel strong, bold, and secure. All eyes will be on you, and it’s best that you feel comfortable and confident in your own skin and dress! I have included some of my favorite bridal dress trends. Let me know which ones are your favorites.

  1. Off the Shoulder Dress
    This style is extremely elegant and can show off a woman’s neckline. One quality I love about this dress is that a bride can either opt to put her hair up or down! This classy look makes a bride look polished and put together.
    Off the Shoulder
  2. Lace Halter Top Dress
    I am normally not a fan of typical halter top dresses because they seem so constricting. However, when it comes to bridal dresses, a lace halter top is extremely elegant! Another plus is that you don’t have to pick out a necklace to wear!
    Lace Halter Neck Wedding Dress
  3. Illusion Back with Trumpet Bottom
    This style is extremely in and extremely lovely. I love the back on this dress and how it flows so smoothly into the trumpet bottom. This dress is conservative while still having a sassy side. 😉
    af3d20ec4be5bd7a98c9f5c9bca0c641
  4. Tea Length Dress
    This dress style is perfect for a unique bride. I would pair this dress with some adorable kitten heels and a birdcage nest veil. I think this dress would be great for a hot summer wedding day.
    Tea Length Wedding Gown
  5. Oversized Bow
    Nothing says Southern Class like an oversized bow on a wedding dress. An oversized bow adds a simple fashionable aspect to a rather simple bridal gown. This extra touch also looks wonderful as the bride walks down the isle.
    Oversized Bow Wedding Dress

STEP THREE: Stick with your decision. It is important once you’ve picked your dress to be confident in your choice and stick with it! As soon as I purchased my dress, I found another dress in the bridal salon that I thought was breathtaking. My mother-in-law {to-be} told me to be confident in the dress I had already chosen and realize that I had already committed to a great dress. I am sure once you pick your dress you will see other gorgeous gowns on your Facebook or Instagram feeds and wonder what those would look like on you instead. The best advice I can give to you is to refrain from these thoughts and think about something else as soon as they come to your mind. This attitude can apply to any time you make a wedding decision. Once you and your fiancé have made a choice, stick with it. This can help you avoid stressful and dramatic situations and it will help everyone stay much calmer and happier.

 

I want to wish all you best of luck finding your perfect dress. Please feel free to keep checking back to see what other wedding planning advice I will be giving!

xoxo,

haley Logo

4 thoughts on “Picking the Perfect Wedding Gown

  1. I am going wedding dress shopping for the first time next week! I am not sure if I will find a dress the first time I go… is it bad to leave the store without purchasing anything? Or is it an acceptable thing to do?

    Like

    1. Ahh! So much fun! No, it is totally acceptable and understandable to leave a store without purchasing anything! I actually left one bridal salon to see what was available at another nearby store. As long as you’re polite to the workers they understand. Hope this helps! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

